When I am awake

This post is a part of 5 Minute Friday at The Gypsy Mama’s blog. I am not a great blogger and really only blog for an audience of One but if from time to time it helps someone else than all the more blessings!

5 mintues of writing…not thinking, not editing to make it something other than it is. Are you ready? Am I?

Go –

Many times between homeschooling, mothering, being a wife and a human I am not sure that I am awake. Like the fully awake where you can see the gifts and blessings that are in your life and take the time to give God the glory He deserves.

I want to be awake. I really do. If I could only get the cat to stop spooning me at 3am. Or if my son in the next room wasn’t having such loud, talking dreams. Maybe I could be more awake if I stopped looking at homeschool blogs right before bed or left next years curriculum planning to this summer. Both of those make my mind race like we were at Daytona!

I want to be AWAKE to the little things in life. I want to be AWAKE to the big things God is bringing me way. Lile how my daughter is finaly getting the hang of our math program. Or how my son suddenly would rather read than do math. Or how the messyness of my craft room makes my dear husband a little crazy.
What else am I missing when I am not fully awake? God’s rich gifts poured out each day on me in the form of fresh grace? How about a friendship blossoming because I was too worried about which errande needed to be run. I don’t want to miss any of these  – so I am going to try to be more awake. Even when I’m not sleeping much at night, and I wake up restless and know there isn’t enough coffee waiting fo rme downstairs. I will still make more of an effort to be awake to the gifts I might be missing, right in front of me.

Done.

So…what are you AWAKE for? Are you fully awake or just going through the motions? Do you ever feel like you are missing something because you catch yourself sleeping? I know I do. I’d love to hear your personal story or comment.

Thanks you so much for taking the time to stop by!
Hugs!

Jen

Leave a Reply

