The gift giving changes as our hearts have been changed

For the past 3 years we have been intentional about shifting the focus of this holiday from being about Santa, presents and stuff to Jesus, life and grace. This year I can see a difference in our children and how they feel about what Christmas means. Back in late October I think, we explained to the kids that this year they were going to only receive 5 gifts from us – the parents.
 1. A gift of want
2. A gift of need
3. A gift of wear
4. A gift of read
5 One from Santa
Yes, we still have 1 Santa believer in this house and while I think he is pretty close to figuring it out, this is not the best time of year to spill the beans. So…Santa will bring 1 this year.

This new approach has been so well received and I am very proud of my kids. As of this moment, they only have a few things on their wishlists and today my daughter who is 10 actually said, outloud “I would be OK if I didn’t get any gifts this year. What if we just gave to the homeless or needy instead?” My eyes filled with tears and I knew she finally understood – Jesus is the reason for the season!!!

I am grateful for how the Lord is working to change our hearts about the holiday.
Thank you for stopping by to share this glimpse of my amazing, ordinary life.

Hugs!
Jen

One thought on “The gift giving changes as our hearts have been changed

Leave a Reply

