Patience is not my best trait

I am not a patient person by design. I have always had a good deal of patience when it comes to my children but when it comes to things I want or think that God might want for me – not so much. Maybe none of us are patient by design but being patient is one area of my life that I have got to learn to hand fully over to God. And over the last few years God has given me plenty of opportunity to hand it over and try to learn. I now understand that patience while waiting on God’s perfect timing develops strength. I have to trust Him more than myself. I learn that every time I wish for the waiting to end, I should stop and pray. Give God just a few moments of me and it helps me focus on being fully dependent on Him. I have learned that God’s timing is perfect, mine is not. God’s perfect timing has a reason and sometimes I just need to wait out what I think is His will for me for the perfect time for the plan to come together. I have learned that sometimes I have to be patient and wait for Him because He needs time to show me that what I am wanting or wishing for isn’t the right thing or part of His will.

Right now, I feel like I am in a time of pause. I need to wait and be patient. There might be some big things on our horizon and if it is meant to be then I need to let it go and Let God take care of it. In the meantime that means a lot of hurry up and wait. Be patient. Ugh! Not the easiest thing for me to do. So…here I vent and spout and probably make no sense at all. That is OK. I am learning that blogging needs to not be about me or the possible 2 or 3 people who might read. I need it to be about Him, all the time…..So Lord I am trying to wait, listen for your calling and be patient. Thank you for grace while I wait.

I am here, just waiting and being patient. If you too are in a time of waiting and testing of your patience I would love to hear about it. How do you wait? How patient are you? Is it easy for you to be patient or are you like me and want to just shove everyone else out of the way and get it taken care of?

Leave a Reply

