We saw God at the library this week…..

We had started our day like all of the others. We did the calendar for the day, learning the days of the week, months of the year and singing a few songs to help reinforce the concepts for D Man. We discussed the weather and recited the Pledge of Allegiance. The last thing we did before we started was we pray and give thanks to God, as we are trying to make Him the center of all things in our life.

Our morning went along great, working on math and reading. We listened to praise music as we studied and worked on our bible verse for the week.  By this time I could tell we were all a bit restless.I knew that we had movies that needed to be returned and we wanted to find a few new books so the kids and I headed to the library.

D man headed off to one area, Miss A to another. I had a few moments to browse around and grab the books I had put on hold the previous week. Most of them were school related. Chemistry, math, science….good old fashioned learning. While I was waiting for the kids to check out their books and movies, the librarian and I started chatting. Of course it came up that we were a homeschooling family…since we were at the library during the middle of the day, while most children are in school. The sweet gal I was chatting with shared with me that she and her brother had been homeschooled while they were growing up and she was a huge proponent of it. She was in 3rd grade and her brother in 1st grade when they started and it was a journey that continued all the way through high school. The love and enthusiasm that poured from Gabby was amazing. As we talked I realized that this encounter was not some accidental occurrence but rather a response from God to the prayers of that morning. In our daily prayer I had invited the Holy Spirit to join us that day, to be a part of our learning and and to be an active part of our day. He was there to reinforce to use that we were doing the right thing. We were following HIS will for our life and our obedience was good. He was using this person to speak to us HIS excitement for our journey and our learning and giving me the pat on the back that so far I was doing a good job.

It was another tangible way to show my children how God is alive and actively participating in our lives. We had asked Him to be a part of our day and He was there and showed Himself in a way that I could point out to my kids and they could understand. No parables or outdated language. Just a very sweet young lady at the library who showed enthusiasm and love of the learning that we are doing. A few weeks ago Miss A (age 9) had asked me how I knew when God was talking to me. That was hard to explain and I found myself grasping for tangible evidence in our lives that she would be able to understand. This however was an answer to that. And I know the library encounter it wasn’t all for me. Part of it was for her….a way that I can show her how God is always present, no matter where we go even though we cannot see Him. To me, it was a double confirmation….like a 2-1 special at the store!!!

I’m slowing learning to see God in all things. Not just the season’s of dry desert, or the times of hurt and emptiness. But also the times of regular life, like between seasons or during the season of peace that I never thought we might reach, and even the season when things are finally going good and I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop. God is here and an active part of my life. I am so blessed to be able to now share and show my children this amazing gift as well. I hope that you can take some time after you read this and try to find Him in the little things. If you are needing Him….call out to Him! Reach out to Him!!! Lay it all out there and be open and ready for Him to respond. I promise you that if you ask He will come!

Blessings to you my friends. I am so happy to have you!
In Him,
Jen

Leave a Reply

