Summer Update

Happy Weekend! How are things going with you? Here they are fast and fabulous. We have accomplished some major milestones in the last month since school has been out. Wait….school has already been out a month? Wow, how time flies.

Mr D. has learned how to ride a 2 wheel bike…..and it only took about an hour. We are so proud of him and he is a bike riding fool. It is so great to see his sense of accomplishment and has been a good life lesson about how we don’t give up and we keep working towards the things we want. He has also become much more comfortable with the water and in just the last 2 days is now holding his breath and going fully under water. This is a HUGE step for him and we are hopeful that he will learn to swim before the summer is over.

Miss A. has also overcome some fears of the water and has learned how to jump into the pool and swim, which then allowed her to practice for her green ribbon test at the Y. She passed with flying colors and made up very proud. Her next goal was to be able to jump off of the diving board. That has taken a bit of time, a ton of faith and courage but we are happy to report that she is now a low dive fool. She is our fish, wanting to be in the pool as much as possible and it is so wonderful to see her achieve these water goals.

In the midst of playdates, time at the park or the YMCA we are doing a bit of school each day, keeping our minds fresh and even learning a few things. Both of the kids are so smart and we enjoy seeing them grow and learn. Just because school is out should not mean that the learning stops. We are getting to the library each week and just found out that a new library is going to be built even closer to our home. We hope that it will be as fun as the library we currently visit.

6 years ago today, I lost my mom, my best friend. I miss her like crazy and am trying to focus on the fun times, the trips and memories we made. Her death has never gotten any easier, I just get more used to it. I am trying to make the effort to not wallow in sadness over the loss. It is what it is and there is nothing I can do. I try to turn to God as much as I can, because I know that this was His plan for her life, and mine I guess. I don’t understand that…the how and why of it all, but I do know that I have to trust Him in all things.

I hope you are having as much fun this summer as we are. I will try and update more often. Maybe even add some pictures. 

Blessings to you and your families!
Jen

Leave a Reply

