The Silly Season now begins

I am so glad that today is over. I’m not that into Halloween this year. But, I am partly dreading what comes next. Tomorrow is the Dawn of “The Season”. You know the one. Where everyone runs around like crazy, headless chickens, trying to be more, have more, do more just because it’s THAT time of year. I’ve called it the Silly Season for the last few years now and that is because everyone gets out of control crazy. We all loose our minds and it’s just plain silly!

This year I am going to try something new. I want this to be the Thankful Season. Thankful for all I have, thankful for the sacrifice that Jesus made for me, thankful that I live in a country where I can share that Good News. Just thankful for all things, big and small.

I am asking God to help change my heart. Change how I feel and deal with the holidays. Help me see and show what they are really all about. Is it possible to make Thanksgiving be less about food and more about being thankful. Can we make Christ the main focus as Christmas approaches. What can I say or do, and how can I act so that my children and my non-Christian friends can see how God is doing a work in me.

This will be a work in progress, as all life is. The focus of holidays have been heavy on my heart lately and this is just one more way God is molding me to be more like him.

So happy Fall Ya’ll! Let’s see what we can do to shake it up this year!

Leave a Reply

