How do you know when you are on the right path?

Life is a journey, filled with paths. Sometimes the path to take is very clear. You know what you want, and you can see it waiting for you at the end of the path.
Other times the path is there, but it’s covered with a fog. You think you see what it is that you are looking for at the end of the path but the fog obstructs your view. And what happens when you are at a crossroads? You have 2 paths in front of you, one being clear and the other covered with fog. At the end of the clear path is something that you would love to have but at the end of the foggy path you think you see the one thing you have been waiting your whole life for.
What would you do? Take the safe road and choose the path that you can clearly see the end of? Or would you take a chance, maybe trust something you cannot see and take the path that might be holding for you the very thing you have waited your whole life for?
For me, I now choose to let God lead my on the path. This was a hard transition, mostly because I am human and I thought that I was the one in control. I spent almost half my life denying the Truth that I knew was out there but thought that I could do better for myself. When I was finally at the end of my rope, feeling hopeless with so many things in my life even thought it was a great life, my wonderful young daughter started asking to go to church. Was she kidding!! Didn’t she know the demons that I had, the guilt I felt when I chose to walk away from God and that I was way too ashamed to ask for His forgiveness and try to walk that walk again. But, because I really want to be the best mom that I can be I decided to take her. That was all My God needed. He grabbed a hold of me and every week during worship and sermon he used those people on stage to show me, tell me how much He wanted me back. He talked to me through songs and sermons. Through Women’s Bible Study and Upward, through people I started to connect with and share my journey with. And over the course of a year plus I have come to a place where I want to turn my Whole Entire Life over to Him.

We made some really big changes in our lives this last year. Losing everything we have worked so hard for. Feeling like we were totally out of control. And yet small things were happening for us. My husband started attending church with me and eventually gave his life to The Lord. We met and made friends who could understand what we were going through. We were in The Word daily. We had a great small group, a wonderful Church family. Wow! Life was getting easier even though it was hard.
And then after a weekend trip to visit some friends, my husband found his happy place. His allergies were gone. The sun was shining and he started to pray. He really thought this was where we were meant to be. Over the course of only a few short months, Our Sovereign Lord gave us so many reasons to come here. We had no place to live, no jobs and only knew 3 people but we decided to take the foggy path and let The Lord lead us.

It has not been easy. I would say that it hasn’t been sunshine and roses except the sun shines here every day so far (almost 3 months now!!) so that wouldn’t be fair. I swear that I’ve gotten more Vitamin D in the last 3 months than I have in the last 30 years! But what we do know is that we have now chosen to let God lead us. Even to the scary and unknown but we have total and absolute faith that He will provide for us. There isn’t any good reason that we should have all that we have been blessed with in this new life but we do know that it is all because and for the Lord we choose to serve.

If you are reading this and have questions about God, please contact me. I came to Christ at a very early age and chose to walk away because it didn’t seem rational, easy or any possibility of being real. But I can tell you from my heart that it is REAL. Jesus Chris is the savior of my life and without Him I would be nothing. He knows that I will never be perfect and that is OK. That is why he was sent to earth. To save me from the Sin of Adam so that we can spend eternal life together, in Heaven with The Father, who created all. I know that is so much for a skeptic or unbeliever to grasp and comprehend, but please, I plead with you….reach out….to me, to another friend with believes or even God himself. He created you, He loves you and He wants you to be part of his kingdom. I would love to help lead you to the path the God has set out for you, even if the path that you are on right is in the middle of a deep fog.

In His name,
Jen

Leave a Reply

