Menu for the week of August 17-23 2009

So I did it! I was able to plan a 21 meal menu for this week and still think of a few snack and desert ideas as well. I don’t think it matters if you are busy stay at home mom or a busy work outside the home mom, everyone needs to have a plan. I hated the times of staring into the fridge at 6pm wondering what to have for dinner. And now that I’m on this new journey of being a domestic diva full time, breakfast and lunch as just as challenging as those dinner days. So my goal is to make this part of my new routine. So, I thought it would be fun to share menu ideas. We all need new ideas to put into our rotations right? So, here is my plan for this week. I will include links or recipes to as many as I can.

Monday
breakfast – not included as the plan was created after breakfast was eaten 🙂
lunch – Ham and cheese sandwiches, pretzels and baby carrots
dinner – Baked Parmesan Chicken with chicken stuffing and steamed broccoli.

Tuesday
breakfast – Sausage and egg english muffin sandwiches
lunch – BLT’s with Tater tots
dinner – Balsamic Glazed Pork Chops (from Rachel Ray’s 365 No Repeats cookbook)

ingredients
2 T cold butter
3 T EVOO
4 thick center cut pork chops
salt and fresh ground pepper
1 small onion
1 T Thyme
1 sprig Rosemary
3 cloves garlic
1/4 C Balsamic vinegar
2 T honey
1 C chicken broth

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add 2 tablespoons of the EVOO. Season the chops
with salt and pepper, then add to the hot skillet. Cook the chops for 5 minutes on each side.

Transfer the chops to a platter and cover with foil. Return the pan to the heat and add the remaining EVOO, thyme, onion, garlic and rosemary, then saute for 4-5 minutes. Add the balsamic vinegar, honey and chicken stock. Cook until the liquids have been reduced by half.

Once the glaze has reduced, turn off the heat and add the 2 tablespoons of butter. Stir and shake the pan until the butter is melted. Add the chops to the pan and coat them with the glaze.

Au gratin potatoes (Betty Crocker in a box), green salad

Wednesday
breakfast – cereal, yogurt, juice
lunch – grilled cheese with Top Ramen Soup
dinner – Herb Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast, mashed taters and green beans

Thursday
breakfast – pancakes, bacon, melon
lunch – quesadillas, carrots, snap peas
dinner – BBQ cheesburgers, french fries

Friday
breakfast – cereal, toast, apple slices
lunch – pizzas, sides TBD
dinner – french dip sandwiches

Saturday
breakfast – Cinnamon Rolls, fruit salad
lunch – tuna sandwiches, celery with dip, fruit
dinner – chicken pasta salad (cold dish made from the Suddenly Salad boxed mix with add ons)

Sunday
breakfast – something quick before church
lunch – brunch: waffles, sausage, fruit
dinner – spaghetti, garlic croissants, spinach salad

So there you have it. I will let you know next week how it goes. I have just about everything we need for this, other than a few more fresh fruits later in the week.
I’d love to hear what you are having this week. Leave me a comment or send me an email.

One thought on “Menu for the week of August 17-23 2009

  1. ok you asked so I shall share our menu
    Sun – garlic lime chicken with roasted potatoes
    Mon – crockpot beef fajitas
    Tues – Mexican lasagna
    Wed – crockpot orange chicken with brown rice
    thurs- spaghetti with olive oil & garlic ficocia bread
    fri – usually pizza night but am thinking tator tat casserole since my boys will eat it and mike and I are going out (YAY)

    we have made friday night homemade pizza night so we switch it up and thomas has fun helping us make it when he is into it. makes it easier to plan and fun for the fam 🙂 what I have for next week is:

    mini turkey pot pies, hamburger gravy with mashed potatoes (one of the kids fav), shredded BBQ chicken sandwhiches, and that is what I have so far… I usually plan meals on saturday for the week so I am actually a little ahead!

    Jessica

    Like

Leave a Reply

